Tinubu Fires NIWA, Shippers’ Council’s Heads, Approves New CEOs


LAGOS OCTOBER 30TH (NEWSRANGERS)-President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of two new Chief Executive Officers in parastatals and agencies under the Federal Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy in line with the recommendations of the Minister, Adegboyega Oyetola.

The new appointees, according to a statement issued yesterday, by presidential spokesperson, Ajuri Ngelale, were Alhaji Munirudeen Bola Oyebamiji as Managing Director / CEO of National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) and Mr. Akutah Pius Ukeyima as new Executive Secretary / CEO of Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC).

Oyebamiji replaced George Moghalu at NIWA, while Ukeyima replaces Emmanuel Jime at the NSC.

Oyebamiji, is a graduate of Banking and Finance and holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration and Business Administration. He is an Economist with industry experience of more than 28 years before he entered the public service. In the public service, he first reversed the downward trajectory of the Osun State Investment Company Limited before serving as the Osun State Commissioner of Finance for eight years.

Ukeyima is a graduate of Law and holds a Master’s degree in Public International Law from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. He most recently served as the Head of the Central Authority Unit, International Cooperation in Criminal Matters, Office of the Attorney-General of the Federation.

According to the statement, Tinubu charged the new appointees in the vital sector to faithfully implement the policies and programmes of the Minister in pursuit of the expeditious and efficient attainment of bolstered revenues and investments as part of the Renewed Hope Agenda’s Blue Economy strategy.

Meanwhile, Tinubu yesterday, asked the Senate to screen for confirmation, the appointment of a lawyer, Musa Aliyu, as the Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

Aliyu, is currently serving as the Attorney-General and Commissioner of Justice in Jigawa State.

The president also asked the red chamber to confirm Saka Bolaji Suleiman and Prof. Gaji Dantata as members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC).

The requests of the President were contained in two separate letters addressed to Senate President Godswill Akpabio and red at plenary by Deputy Senate President Jibrin Barau who presided.

Tinubu said, “In compliance with the provision of section 3, subsection 6 of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offenses Commission, ICPC, Establishment Act 2000, I am pleased to present for confirmation, by the Senate, the appointment of Mr. Musa Aliyu as Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offenses Commission, ICPC.”

The appointment of Aliyu, according to statement by the Special Adviser), Media and Publicity to the President, Ajuri Ngelale, last week, was sequel to the request of the outgoing chairman of the commission, Bolaji Owasanoye, whose statutory tenure still remains over three months, “to proceed on pre-end of tenure leave beginning on 4 November 2023”.

Owasanoye’s tenure is statutorily due to expire on February 3, 2024.

In a similar vein, the President said, “In accordance with the provision of section 154 of section 1 and 3, paragraph 12 of Part 1, of the third schedule of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate the appointments of the under-listed two persons as members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission.

“Commissioner, number one, Saka Bolaji Suleiman, and number two, Professor Gaji Dantata.”

Barau referred the two executive requests to the Committee of the Whole for consideration.

In the meantime, the Deputy President of the Senate, has sworn in Amos Yohana as Senator for Adamawa North Senatorial District to replace Senator Ishaku Abbo, who was sacked by the Court of Appeal.

Yohana was sworn in yesterday, during the plenary session presided over by Barau.

The Court of Appeal had sacked Abbo, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on October 16, 2023.

The three-member panel presided over by Justice C.E. Nwosu-Iheme, had ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission to issue a Certificate of Return to Yohanna as the duly elected lawmaker representing the area in the National Assembly.

Yohanna, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was handed over instruments of office and documents by the deputy president of the Senate to mark the official swearing-in.

ThisDay Live

For advert placement, events coverage, media placement, public relation consultancy and further inquiries please whatApp 2348023773039 or email: labakevwe@yahoo.com



Short URL: https://newsrangers.com/?p=116867

Posted by on Oct 30 2023. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department