Senate: Ahmed Lawan Elected Speaker, Omo-Agege Deputy Speaker

AhmedLawan andOvie Omo-Agege

LAGOS JUNE 11TH (NEWSRANGERS)-Ahmed Lawan, the Senator representing Yobe North constituency, has won the leadership position of the ninth National Assembly.
Lawan defeated his opponent Ali-Ndume with 79 votes from the lawmakers, thereby making him the Senate President.
His victory was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, who added that 107 senators cast their votes.
Lawan was immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the National Assembly
In a related development, Ovie Omo-Agege, the Senator representing Delta Central District in the National Assembly, has been elected as Deputy Senate President.
Omo-Agege, a lawyer hails from Orogun in Ughelli North Local Government Area of Delta State.
He secured 68 votes in the election to defeat Ike Ekweremadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 37 votes. Two members abstained from voting.
The outspoken Omo-Agege has been a staunch supporter of President Muhammadu Buhari.
In his acceptance speech, the senatort stated that he holds no grudges towards anybody.
The senator was endorsed by his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and he defeated the longest serving Deputy Senate President, Ekweremadu who was gunning for his fourth term in the role.
Also, lawmakers, as well as state governors, were seen shaking hands in jubilation over the victory of Omo-Agege.

Short URL:

Posted by on Jun 11 2019. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department