Mass Defection Hits APC In Northern States After Primaries -(SEE NAMES)


LAGOS JUNE 21ST (NEWSRANGERS)-After the primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the ruling party is now facing a threatening wave of defection from the north, where it has its stronghold.  

Most chieftains who are northern lawmakers in both the red and green chambers are abandoning the party for other political platforms for similar reasons top among which is the lack of principles and internal democracy, checks by Premium Times have revealed.

This, needless to say, is drastically affecting the APC’s chances of victory in the coming general elections. States where what may be called a mass exodus of party bigwigs is happening are Bauchi, Katsina, and Sokoto.

Below is a list of northern APC heavyweights that have resigned their membership of the party in the above-named states.


Bauchi State


Bauchi Senator Lawal Gumau Senator Halliru Dauda – Jika Honourable Yakubu Shehu Abdu Sule – Katagum (former Bauchi deputy governor) Farouq Mustapha (chieftain and former lawmaker) Ibrahim Mohammed (chieftain and former lawmaker)


Katsina State

Katsina Honourable Babangida Talau Honourable Armayau Kado Honourable Aminu Ashiru Umar Abdullahi Garba Dankani Most of the former APC bigwigs are now members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Action Alliance (AA), and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) in the state.


Sokoto State


Sokoto Honourable Abdullahi Salame Honourable Isa Kurdula Bello Jibril (former minister of culture and tourism)


Please follow and like us:

Related Post

Short URL:

Posted by on Jun 21 2022. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

News Rangers TV

Recent Gallery Slideshow

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department