Absenteeism: Wike Suspends 12 Local Govt Chairmen

LAGOS APRIL 19TH (NEWRANGERS)-Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, has suspended 12 local government chairmen for their alleged refusal to attend official state functions.
A statement signed by the governor’s Special Assistant on Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, indicated that the suspension took immediate effect.

Those affected are chairmen of Okrika, Emohua, Abua/Odual, Degema, Khana, Gokana, Ahoada East, Ikwerre, Eleme, Andoni, Omuma and Ogu/Bolo local government areas.
According to the statement, “Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has suspended 12 Local Government Council Chairmen. The suspension of the council Chairmen is with immediate effect.
“The suspended council chairmen are Philemon Kingolo, Okrika LGA; Tom Aliezi, Emohua; Daniel E.O. Daniel, Abua/Odual; Tony Phimoore, Degema; and Lahteh Loolo, Khana;
Others, according to the statement, are, Paul Kobani, Gokana; Ben Eke, Ahoada East; Samuel Nwanosike, Ikwerre; Philip Okparaji, Eleme; Paul L. Paul, Andoni; Christian Nwaiwu, Omuma; and Erasmus Victor, Ogu/Bolo.
Meanwhile, the state governor has notified the Rivers State House of Assembly of the suspension of the 12 council chairmen.
Wike, in a letter to the Speaker of the Rivers State House of Assembly titled, ‘Notice of Suspension of the Chairmen of 12 local government council chairmen,’ premised his action on Section 64 (3) of the Rivers State Local Government Law No. 5 of 2018.

Short URL: https://newsrangers.com/?p=26876

Posted by on Apr 19 2019. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department