President Tinubu Fires Police Service Commission Chairman Solomon Arase

LAGOS JUNE 11TH (NEWSRANGERS)-President Bola Tinubu has sacked Solomon Arase as the chairperson of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The president replaced him with Hashimu Argungu, a retired deputy inspector general of police, according to a statement by the Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity), Ajuri Ngelale, on Monday.

The president also approved the appointment of Onyemuche Nnamani as secretary of the commission and Taiwo Lakanu, also a retired deputy inspector general of police, as member of the commission.

The statement did not disclose the reason for Mr Arase’s removal from office.

But it comes on the heel of an ICIR investigative report published in February that exposed his alleged involvement in the illegal sale of the lands through a contracting firm, Corpren International Limited, under the guise of developing the police residential estate.

The story was backed by evidence of affidavits and documents of ongoing litigation over the lands located in different parts of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The ICIR story also revealed that Mr Arase enabled Corpran International Limited to obtain nearly N1 billion from the Police Mortgage Bank without collateral.

It also accused Andy Chime, the owner of Corpran International Limited, of being used to dupe the NPF in the illegal deal.

Police intimidation

Following the publication of the ICIR report, Mr Arase and Corpran International Limited instituted lawsuits against the newspaper and the reporter who authored the story.

Messrs Arase and Chime also wrote a petition to the Nigerian Police Force Cybercrime Centre (NPF-NCCC), accusing the journalists of cyberstalking and defamation of character – leading to the harassment of the journalists by the police.

Read the full statement from the presidency below:



President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of DIG Hashimu Argungu (Rtd) as the Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The President has also approved the appointment of Chief Onyemuche Nnamani as Secretary and DIG Taiwo Lakanu (Rtd) as Member of the Commission.

The appointments are subject to confirmation by the Senate.

Other members of the Police Service Commission will be appointed in due course.

Furthermore, the President has approved the appointment of Mr. Mohammed Sheidu as the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund (NPTF) with immediate effect.

The President expects absolute demonstration of integrity, diligence, and patriotic zeal in the discharge of these important functions for the overall wellbeing of the Nigeria Police and the nation.

Chief Ajuri Ngelale

Special Adviser to the President

(Media & Publicity)

June 10, 2024

Premium Times

For media advert placement, events coverage , public relation consultancy, media placement and further inquiries please WhatsApp 2348023773039 or email:

Short URL:

Posted by on Jun 11 2024. Filed under National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

Designed by News Rangers ICT Department